Oppy Honour Roll

Oppy Honour Roll



The Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy has been presented to the Australian Cyclist of the Year since 1958.  For the years 1958 to 1995 the Award was under the custodianship of the award’s founder Mr Bill Long OAM, a life member of Cycling Australia, and it was presented for the most outstanding Australian 'cyclist of the year'.

Cycling Australia took custodianship of the Award in 1996 and it is now presented to the best all-round performing cyclist each year who also displays a high level of sportsmanship and is an ambassador for the sport of cycling.


In an incredible 21-year career, ‘Oppy’ notched up an impressive list of cycling achievements both at home and abroad.  He won the Australian Road Championship in 1924, 1926, 1927 and 1929 and posted the fastest time three times in the Melbourne to Warrnambool Cycle Classic.  Hubert Opperman became the world’s greatest endurance cyclist when he defeated the cream of European endurance riders in the 1931 non-stop 1166 kilometre Paris-Brest-Paris breaking all previous records over the distance.

When the world went to war, ‘Oppy’ hung up his bike and joined the air force. In the post-war years, he served as the Liberal member for Corio for 17 years under Prime Ministers Sir Robert Menzies and Harold Holt.  ‘Oppy’ served with great distinction as Chief Government Whip and later, was elected to Cabinet as Minister for Shipping and Transport 1960-1663, and Minister for Immigration 1963-1966.  In 1967 he became Australia’s first High Commissioner of Malta.

The Honourable Sir Hubert Opperman OBE GCSJ retired from public life in 1972.

Honour Roll

1958 Russell Mockridge
1959 Peter Panton
1960 John Green
1961 Alan Grindal
1962 Sid Patterson
1963 Ron Grenda
1964 Barry Waddell
1965 Ray Bilney
1966 Barry Waddell
1967 Graeme Gilmore
1968 Barry Waddell
1969 Keith Oliver
1970 Gordon Johnson
1971 Graham McVilly
1972 Graeme Gilmore
1973 Graham McVilly
1974 Laurie Venn
1975 John Nicholson
1976 David Allan
1977 winners Terry Stacey & Gary Wiggins
1978 winners Malcolm Hill & Shane Bartley
1979 Peter Besanko
1980 Laurie Venn
1981 Peter Besanko
1982 Steele Bishop
1983 Gary Trowell
1984 Peter Besanko
1985 Laurie Venn
1986 Michael Lynch
1987 Neil Stephens
1988 Barry Burns
1989 Martin Vinnicombe
1990 Rod Evans
1991 Brent McCaig
1992 Scott Sunderland
1993 Bradley McGee
1994 Rod Evans
1995 Darryn Hill
1996 Shane Kelly
1997 Henk Vogels
1998 Stuart O'Grady
1999 Anna Wilson
2000 Brett Aitken & Scott McGrory 
2001 Stuart O'Grady 
2002 Robbie McEwen 
2003 Michael Rogers 
2004 Ryan Bayley 
2005 Robbie McEwen
2006 Cadel Evans
2007 Cadel Evans
2008 Anna Meares
2009 Cadel Evans
2010 Cameron Meyer
2011 Cadel Evans
2012 Anna Meares
2013 Caroline Buchanan
2014 Simon Gerrans
2015 Rohan Dennis
2016 Mathew Hayman
2017 Michael Matthews
2018 Rohan Dennis
2019 Caleb Ewan