Ryan Bayley

Ryan Bayley


Australian cycling has a rich history comprising of some of the oldest races in the world and international success dating back more than 100 years. 

The Cycling Australia Hall of Fame has been established to recognise the outstanding achievements of the true greats of Australian cycling.

They are the “best of the best” who, through their achievements, have made an enduring or significant contribution to cycling. Induction into the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame is a public acknowledgement of their extraordinary feats.

A Cycling Australia Hall of Fame Committee selects riders and/or officials whose induction into the Hall of Fame takes place at the annual Cycling Australia Awards.

Sir Hubert Opperman

Ryan Bayley


At the Athens 2004 Olympic Games, ‘Flyin Ryan’ launched himself into Australian sporting folklore when he became the first Australian track cyclist to win two individual gold medals at the same Games. 

While nearly as much was written about his eating habits and relaxed attitudes, West Australian Bayley showcased his trademark kick to claim famous victories in the sprint and keirin at the 2004 Games. 

“It’s cool to be recognised for what you’ve done, and when you win stuff back then it’s nice to be put up on the wall with other impressive athletes,” said Bayley, who also added four Commonwealth gold and the 2001 keirin world title during his career before hanging up the bike from international competition in 2009. 

“Some days it (Athens) seriously feels like it was a couple of weeks ago, other days it feels like a century ago.”

Major Achievements

Olympic Games 
  • Gold medal – 2004 Athens Keirin 
  • Gold medal – 2004 Athens Sprint  

Commonwealth Games 

  • Gold medal – 2002 Manchester Sprint 
  • Gold medal – 2002 Manchester Team Sprint 
  • Gold medal – 2006 Melbourne Keirin 
  • Gold medal – 2006 Melbourne Sprint 

World Championship 

  • Gold medal –2001 Antwerpen Keirin 
  • Silver medal – 2001 Antwerpen Team 
  • Sprint Silver medal – 2002 Copenhagen Team Sprint 
  • Bronze medal – 2004 Melbourne Sprint 
  • Bronze medal – 2006 Bordeaux Team Sprint