Virtual Track National Challenge

Virtual Track National Challenge


Cycling Australia is excited to announce the launch of the ‘Virtual Track National Challenge’, an initiative which will see riders across Australia battle against each other in a series of challenges. 

To be contested over the first two weekends of October, the inaugural Challenge will see riders contest timed track events at their primary Indoor Velodrome in their home state or territory. 

Challenges will be open to J15, J17, J19 and Elite categories.  Races will be held in the Flying 200M, Individual Pursuit, Time Trial Team Sprint and Team Pursuit, with times recorded at each velodrome across Australia to be standardised using an approach developed by the Australian Cycling Team.  

The event will also provide a key preparation opportunity for teams and riders as they build towards the 2020 Track National Championships in Brisbane from 16-20 December.

“In these uncertain times, we are pleased to be able to offer an innovative way for riders to target an event where they can measure themselves against the best in the country.” Kipp Kauffman, General Manager of Sport, Cycling Australia. 

Entries Now Open

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can race?

Any current Cycling Australia Race Members in the Para-cyclists (B and C classified) or in the J15, J17, J19 or Elite categories.

What Age Group should I be in?

Riders should be in their 2020 age category not ride up to their 2021 age category.

Which velodromes and what times of day are the events being conducted?

  • New South Wales & ACT: Dunc Gray Velodrome; October 3-4 
  • Northern Territory: Darwin and Alice Springs Velodromes; TBC
  • Queensland: Anna Meares Velodrome; October 3-4
  • South Australia: Superdrome; October 3-4
  • Tasmania: Silverdome; October 11
  • Victoria: DISC; October 3-4
  • Western Australia: SpeedDome; October 2-3

In some states start times are currently being finalised.  These will be updated on the event entry page as they are confirmed.

Which State should I enter?

You should enter the state where you expect to take part in the Challenge (e.g. if you live in South Australia but would compete for New South Wales you should sign up for SA Challenge)

What if the velodrome isn’t open or I am not allowed to travel to it?

CA will work with each state should any travel or venue restrictions be in place.  In this case a flexible date arrangement may be made with the affected state. Your host state will confirm directly with you closer to the date.

How are the times standardised?

The Australian Cycling Team has evaluated each of the velodromes based on past performances and the calculation will take into account the barometric pressure and temperatures in each velodrome.

We acknowledge that these are unlikely to be perfectly aligned in each instance however it does provide a great opportunity for riders to race each other within the current environment.

How will results be published?

We will be using a live timing app that will centralise the results as they happen throughout the country.

How can I enter the team events?

The team events will be determined by the individual state.  Further information will come from your individual state on this.

Why are there different costs with each state?

Each state has set their costs to cover the cost of using the venue or Commissaires on the day.  All fees are returned to the individual state.

  • South Australia: $5 (per day)
  • Victoria: No Charge
  • Queensland: $10 (total all events)
  • Northern Territory: No charge
  • Western Australia: $10 (total all events)
  • New South Wales/ACT: $10 (per day)
  • Tasmania: $15 (total all events)

Will there be prizes?

CA will award medals for each of the categories.

Further Questions