New director, life member after Cycling NSW AGM

New director, life member after Cycling NSW AGM


Cycling NSW farewelled two directors and welcomed a new one at last night’s Annual General Meeting.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, for the first time the AGM was held online as a virtual meeting. It was well attended, with 30 clubs represented by their delegates and 43 individual members also present.

Outgoing president Glenn Vigar announced the resignation of Catherine Hooton as an appointed director. Hooton joined the board in June 2019. Her commitments of practising as a medical doctor during the current COVID-19 pandemic led to her decision to resign from the board.

Vigar thanked Hooton not only for her service to Cycling NSW, but also to the community at large as she continues to work on the frontline of the pandemic.

The board will accept expressions of interest to fill the vacancy of appointed director.

Three director positions were open for election. As exactly three director nominations were received, all three nominees were accepted. Existing directors James Vickers and Craig Chapman were returned to the board.

Vigar did not nominate for re-election. In his place, David Stevens, a member of Randwick Botany CC, joins the board as a new director. Stevens is an Associate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He has been a competitive cyclist on and off for over 30 years, runs a masters cycling team and has been a financial sponsor of various events, cyclists, teams and his own club.

“Above all, I am passionate about cycling and I want to see it improve in terms of grassroots club cycling, and also the elite and masters levels,” wrote Stevens in his nomination application.

Despite stepping down as a director, last night Vigar was honoured with life membership of Cycling NSW.

Vigar first joined the NSW Cycling Union in 1962 as a member of Picton Thirlmere Cycling Club. After racing as a junior, he has given much to the sport as a volunteer.

His contributions have included 16 years as a moto marshal at the Commonwealth Bank Cycle Classic; driving as a neutral spares specialist at World Championships, Commonwealth Games and Olympic Games; being chief commissaire at the 2018 Invictus Games; and, perhaps most notably, 35 years of commissaire work.

Vigar served as vice-president of Cycling NSW in 2004 and 2005 before returning as a board member from 2016, taking on the presidency last year. He is a proud member of St George CC.

A new president will be chosen at the next board meeting in September.