Goulburn Junior Tour attracts top talents from across Australia

Goulburn Junior Tour attracts top talents from across Australia


When quality racing is on offer, distance is no deterrent.

So it proved on the weekend, as juniors from as far as Townsville, Gold Coast and Adelaide joined riders from the ACT and every corner of NSW for the Goulburn Workers Junior 2 Day Tour.

With four stages on the cards – a prologue, longer time trial and two road races – the Goulburn Cycle Club’s marquee junior road event attracted riders from across the nation searching for top-shelf racing to start the 2021 season.

The interstate riders showed their talent, winning six out of ten general classifications in this 16th edition of the race.

In the Under-17s, Canberrans led an impressive field that featured five riders recently named “emerging athletes” in the national high-performance pathway.

Lauren Bates (Canberra CC) and Oscar Chamberlain (Canberra CC) won the overall classifications, in large part thanks to winning both individual time trials.

South Australia’s Wil Holmes (Norwood CC) was runner-up in the men’s event ahead of Curtis Trkulja (Nowra VC), while individual pursuit national record-holder Keira Will (Lidcombe Auburn CC) and Nicole Duncan (Central Coast CC) completed the women’s podium.

In the Under-15s, Alex Hewes (Gold Coast CC) continued the interstate theme by winning all four stages and the overall for the men. Georgia Gardner (Jindabyne CC) came down from the mountains to climb to the top of the women’s ranking, winning three stages along the way.

In the Under-13s, Lucas Soegaard (Gold Coast CC) matched his elder clubmate Hewes by winning every stage and the boys’ tour. Alexis Phillips (Wagga Wagga CC) won the girls’ tour but was challenged by Ava Carmen Robbins (Gold Coast CC), who finished equal with Phillips on points – the Wagga cyclist prevailing due to her better prologue.

In the Under-11s, coming all the way from northern Queensland was girls’ tour winner Siena Goulding (Townville CC). Out of the boys, Zwi Ratajczak (Southern Cross CC) swept the stage wins and the GC.

Elliot Szkudlarek (Bankstown Sports CC) and Annika Astridge (Canberra CC) won the Under-9 tours.

Cycling NSW thanks Goulburn Cycle Club for hosting another excellent edition of the Goulburn Workers Junior 2 Day Tour, as proven by the depth and breadth of riders who travelled to attend the event.

General Classification Results

Under-17 Women

  1. Lauren BATES       Canberra CC (ACT)          
  2. Keira WILL              Lidcombe Auburn CC
  3. Nicole DUNCAN     Central Coast CC
  4. Belinda BAILEY      Bendigo & District CC (VIC)
  5. Isabelle RUSSELL  Dubbo CC

Under-17 Men (Division A)

  1. Oscar CHAMBERLAIN     Canberra CC (ACT)                                                                                 
  2. Wil HOLMES                     Norwood CC (SA)
  3. Curtis TRKULJA                Nowra VC
  4. Benjamin ANDERSON      Dubbo CC
  5. Nate HADDEN                  Bendigo & District CC (VIC)

Under-17 Men (Division B)

  1. Isaac SILVA              Bankstown Sports CC
  2. Oscar HANSEN       Orange CC
  3. Titus MADELEY       Wagga Wagga CC
  4. Jacob STEEP           Manning Valley CC
  5. Thomas WILLIAMSON       Dubbo CC

Under-15 Women

  1. Georgia GARDINER      Jindabyne CC                                                                                                     
  2. Anna DUBIER                Lidcombe Auburn CC
  3. Amelie SANDERS          Gold Coast CC (QLD)
  4. Imogen FULLER             Dubbo CC
  5. Makayla FULLER           Dubbo CC

Under-15 Men

  1. Alex HEWES               Gold Coast CC (QLD)                                                                                                       
  2. Liam GOLTMAN          Lidcombe Auburn CC                                                                                                      
  3. Ben COATES               Manly Warringah CC
  4. Max GOOLD                Blackburn CC (VIC)
  5. Angus WITHINGTON  Canberra CC (ACT)

Under-13 Girls

  1. Alexis PHILLIPS                 Wagga Wagga CC                                                                                            
  2. Ava CARMEN ROBBINS   Gold Coast CC (QLD)                                                                                      
  3. Darcy HENWOOD              Canberra CC (ACT)
  4. Jenna GALLAGHER           Bathurst CC
  5. Zoe MAYE                           Lidcombe Auburn CC    

Under-13 Boys

  1. Lucas SOEGAARD       Gold Coast CC (QLD)                                                                                      
  2. Ollie TAYLOR                Neo CC                                                                                
  3. Ruben SHEPARD         Randwick Botany CC
  4. Luke ROGERS             Canberra CC (ACT)
  5. Charlie SMITH              Randwick Botany CC

Under-11 Girls

  1. Siena GOULDING          Townsville CC (QLD)                                                                                       
  2. Indie CHAMPION          Goulburn CC                                                                                      
  3. Annabelle YEO              Orange CC

Under-11 Boys

  1. Zwi RATAJCZAK         Southern Cross CC                                                                                          
  2. Jett STOKES               Randwick Botany CC                                                                                      
  3. William YEO                Orange CC
  4. Matilda THOMPSON   Northern Sydney CC
  5. Grace JAKOBSEN       Illawarra CC

Under-9 Girls

  1. Annika ASTRIDGE          Canberra CC (ACT)                                                                                          
  2. Ashleigh MAAS                Canberra CC (ACT)

Under-9 Boys

  1. Elliott SZKUDLAREK          Bankstown Sports CC                                                                                     
  2. Hamish SMITH                    Bathurst CC                                                                                       
  3. Sebastian GALLAGHER     Bathurst CC
  4. Hudson TAYLOR                 Vikings CC (ACT)

Full results: https://my.raceresult.com/169149

Photos courtesy Goulburn Cycle Club