Manly Warringah wins NSW Team Time Trial Championships

Manly Warringah wins NSW Team Time Trial Championships


Words and photos by Ryan Miu

Manly Warringah CC have narrowly defended their overall title on a picture-perfect day at the NSW Club Team Time Trial Championships in Singleton.

The bright blue skies may have been taken a good omen for the riders in blue. However, although the northern beaches club had the most entrants, they only edged out runners-up Randwick CC by the barest of margins, 20 points.

Indeed, testament to the breadth of talent across NSW was the fact that each championship category was won by a different club.

Elite Men

In still conditions and warm sunshine, Manly’s “A-Elite” team took the bragging rights of fastest time, clocking 39:37.12 at an average speed of 45km/h across the 30-kilometre course. They were the only team to finish in under 40 minutes, earning the quartet of Christopher Ball, Matthew Dinham, Tim Clarsen and Dylan George the Elite Men’s title and historic Clubs’ Championship Shield.

For Ball, third time was the charm after his results on the previous two occasions.

“It’s a bit of redemption after the last couple of years, getting third in my first year and then second last year. It’s pretty sweet to finally get the trophy,” Ball said. “The conditions were still – really good day for bike racing. It’s a good, fast course, and a lot of fun.”

Lidcombe-Auburn CC and Sutherland Shire CC completed the Elite Men’s podium. Defending champions St George CC suffered from misfortune with two punctured tyres, leaving them in fifth place at over three minutes behind.

Elite Women

In the Elite Women’s competition, three strong riders from Sydney Uni Velo did enough to take the crown with Georgia Whitehouse, Emily Watts and Nicole Wilson winning with a time of 46:11.93 at an average speed of nearly 39km/h. Being short by one rider, and a lack of time trial-specific equipment, did not prevent the team nicknamed “Will Ride for Coffee” from taking the championship.

“We had one on a TT bike – Emily holding strong on the front – and Georgia and I on road bikes behind, just communicating together,” Wilson said. “I think it worked really well.”

“We were really fast, so we’re happy,” Watts said.

Another Sydney Uni Velo team took silver, while Manly completed the podium.

Masters and Overall Championships

The Masters titles were shared among a variety of clubs, with Hunter District CC, Sydney CC, Harlequin, Southern Cross CC and Illawarra CC all winning gold.

The tussle for overall club champion went down to the wire. Manly Warringah had entered 13 teams to Randwick’s 11, but consistent results from the latter kept them in contention. Only two of Randwick’s teams finished outside the top-ten in any category, and they also earned three silver medals throughout the day.

However, while Randwick finished the day with 679 points, the extra two teams proved vital for turning the competition in favour of Manly Warringah, who finished with 699 points. For example, Manly Warringah president Mitchell Dixon’s team earned 23 points by finishing 13th in the Masters Men All Ages category, proving that every rider’s contribution can make the difference.

“I think it’s about having a good club culture,” Dixon said about Manly Warringah’s success. “We like having fun on our bikes, we like doing that together, and I think the guys wanted to come out and represent the club, have a bit of fun together – and try to defend the title; there’s always a bit of incentive there to bring a few people out.”

Earlier in the day, combined teams contested the Singleton Challenge, with “Scone’s Cheeky Cyclists” winning the mixed category and the junior squad from Team Rauland winning the men’s category.


Full results:

Singleton Challenge Mixed

  1. SCONE'S CHEEKY CYCLISTS (Cheeky CC) Nicky Western, Michel Nijland, David Hill, Glen Kite
  2. THE BRADBURYS (Penrith CC) Lois Cochrane, Greigory Cochrane, Adam Thompson, Anthony Cummings                          

Singleton Challenge Men

  1. TEAM RAULAND Brayden Bloch, Asher Fawle, Luke Tuckwell, Alexander Galea
  2. PILU RACING TEAM CHALLENGE (Bicisport) Jeremy Hopson, David Munro, Darren Benson, Timothy White
  3. LATTE LEGS (North Western Sydney CC) Jeff Taggart, Brendan Mcmorran, Mark Guptill, Ian Timms                  

Elite Men

  1. MANLY A-ELITE (Manly Warringah CC) Christopher Ball, Matthew Dinham, Tim Clarsen, Dylan George
  2. LACC ELITE MEN (Lidcombe Auburn CC)  Greg Burgett, Edward Parker, Kiet Duong, Benjamin Spenceley
  3. SSCC ONE (Sutherland Shire CC) Willem van Wyk, Christopher Visvis, Jeffrey Hunt, Troy Wilson

Elite Women

  1. WILL RIDE FOR COFFEE (Sydney Uni Velo Club) Georgia Whitehouse, Emily Watts, Nicole Wilson
  2. SYDEY UNI VELO ELITE WOMEN (Sydney Uni Velo Club) Nadia Younan, Eline Smit, Nicole Oh, Georgia Miansarow
  3. MWCC ELITE WOMEN (Manly Warringah CC) Bree Playel, Louise Mckeon, Joan Kuhrmann, India Mclean                     

Masters Women (All Ages)

  1. SXCC FLYBYS (Southern Cross CC) Lynda Behan, Susanna Dale, Chantelle Orr, Michelle Crawford
  2. RANDWICK WOMEN TEAM 1 (Randwick Botany CC) Clare Menzies, Fiona Kwok, Laura Bortolozzi, Sue Jackson
  3. SCC BLUE LIGHTNING (Sydney CC) Fiona Bennett, Sharon Moller, Hannah Butt, Dominique Henry

Masters Men (180+)

  1. SCC 180 (Sydney CC) Roger Cull, Geoffrey Kennett, Peter Montford                    
  2. MANLY BOOMERS (Manly Warringah CC) Gregory Barnes, Phillip Lynch, Peter Ritchie, Neil Matthews
  3. WARATAH 1 (Waratah Masters CC) Paul Mckay, Jack Yuen, Mark Skribins, Sean Vale         

Masters Women (140+)

  1. ICC CHARDY CHASERS (Illawarra CC) Deborah Coulls, Kirsten Bennett, Josephine Clark, Nicole Nugara
  2. RANDWICK WOMEN 140 TEAM 1 (Randwick Botany CC) Anna Murray, Audrey Braun, Karen Birkenhead
  3. HAPPY OTRS (Sydney CC) Mireille Campbell, Therese Taylor, Geraldine Mckenna, Lindy Ryan

Masters Men (150+)

  1. HARLEQUIN Jon Leighton, Andrew Bray, Peter Robertson, Ross Bowles
  2. RANDWICK 150 TEAM 1 (Randwick Botany CC) Allan Smith, Daniele Vanolini, Matthew Glanville, Rob Hacker
  3. HAPPY WHEELS 'A' TEAM (Bicisport) Stewart Campbell, Graham Cockerton, Randolph Baral, Dudley Hoskin                      

Masters Men (All Ages)

  1. HDCC MASTERS (Hunter District CC): Ben Neppl, Johnathan Millington, Daniel Sullivan, Michael Quinn
  2. HOW MUCH FURTHER (Penrith CC) James Sweeney, Eddie Salas, Peter Wakefield, Peter Milostic
  3. NEVER EVEN HASBEENS (Penrith CC) Sean Brunt, Bob Brace, Michael Schembri, Ryan Williams