Cycling Australia

NSW under-19 team selected for Korean tour


Six under-19 riders and three team staff will represent NSW at the Tour de DMZ in South Korea later this year.

Cycling NSW has chosen the NSW under-19 team that will compete in the five-stage race from August 30 to September 3. The event is part of the UCI Men Junior Nations' Cup.

The team will include two members of the state team from this year's National Track Championships, being Kurt Eather (Dubbo CC) and Luke Britten (Illawarra CC). Their track teammates Joshua Brodie and Alex Micallef are unavailable due to injury and study commitments.

Joining Eather and Britten will be recent Keegan Downes Memorial Handicap winner Luke Ensor (Dubbo CC) and first-year under-19 riders Zac Barnhill (Wagga Wagga CC)Lincoln Hey (Central Coast CC) and Luke Deasey (Tamworth CC).

This event will be the first step in Cycling NSW's under-19 road and track endurance development initiative, which was announced earlier this week.

The development initiative aims to create opportunities for NSW junior riders to experience racing overseas and locally. For many of these riders, the Tour de DMZ will be their first taste of international racing.

Cycling NSW will announce team selections for later events, including the Yunca Junior Tour of Southland, in due course.

NSW team:

  • Zac Barnhill (Wagga Wagga CC)
  • Luke Britten (Illawarra CC)
  • Luke Deasey (Tamworth CC)
  • Kurt Eather (Dubbo CC)
  • Luke Ensor (Dubbo CC)
  • Lincoln Hey (Central Coast CC)
  • Reserve: Rohan Haydon-Smith (St George CC)


  • ​Manager: Anthony Flynn (St George CC)
  • Coach: Vaughan Eather (Dubbo CC)
  • Assistant Coach/Mechanic: Mick Marshall (Illawarra CC, TBC)