Update: 2020 Junior Road Calendar and Selection Events

Update: 2020 Junior Road Calendar and Selection Events


Throughout the suspension of racing, Cycling NSW has been in close communication with host clubs of junior races to prepare for their return.

COVID-19 has created significant challenges for the 2020 season. As well as reducing the number of available dates, the pandemic has heavily impacted some of the businesses that sponsor junior races. Also, the added safety requirements in this environment will stretch the resources of host clubs.

In the context of these challenges, Cycling NSW is nevertheless pleased to confirm the junior road racing calendar for the remainder of the year.

The 2020 junior season will feature three weekends of racing, including the NSW Junior Road Championships, before the national championships in late September.

In the circumstances, this calendar gives the juniors of New South Wales the best possible opportunity to enjoy and develop their racing and prepare for the National Championships.

Unfortunately, but understandably, the Goulburn Junior Tour and Port Macquarie Junior Tour will not be held this year.

Cycling NSW takes this opportunity to thank host clubs Hunter District CC, Lidcombe Auburn CC, Southern Cross CC and Wagga Wagga CC, as well as Goulburn CC and Port Macquarie CC, for their assistance and partnership during these uncertain and difficult times.

The 2020 junior road calendar is set out below:




U15-U17 Selection Event?

25-26 Jul

Hunter Junior Tour

HEZ, Kurri Kurri


8 Aug

Dooleys Junior Tour of Sydney



9 Aug

NSW Junior Metropolitan & Country Road Championships

Waratah Park, Sutherland


NSW Junior Criterium Championships

Waratah Park, Sutherland


5-6 Sep

NSW Junior Road Championships (ITT, TTT and road race)

Wagga Wagga


25-27 Sep

Cycling Australia Junior Road National Championships

Wagga Wagga


The following events are designated as Selection Events under the Junior Selection Policy (U15 & U17 NSW Road Team):

  • • Hunter Junior Tour – road race
  • • Dooleys Junior Tour of Sydney
  • • NSW Junior Road Race Championships, Wagga Wagga

The following events are designated as Time Trial Selection Events under the selection policy:

  • • Hunter Junior Tour – individual time trial
  • • NSW Junior Individual Time Trial Championships, Wagga Wagga

As there will only be two Time Trial Selection Events in 2020, a rider’s points score will be calculated by adding that rider’s best two scores (instead of the three contemplated by clause 9.3(c) of the selection policy).