Northern Territory



Cycling Australia (CA) wishes to thank The Hon. Steve Bracks AC for his service to CA members and the sport of cycling as he announces his departure from the position of Chair and member of the Board of Cycling Australia.

Mr. Bracks joined the CA Board in February 2017 due, in part, to the lasting impression cycling left on him as organising committee Chair of the 2010 Road World Championships.

Steve Bracks, AC: “It has been a privilege to Chair the Board of Cycling Australia at a time of significant change. I leave the Board secure in the knowledge that it is heading in the right direction. I believe the
organisation and the sport have a bright future and are in good hands, both executive and non-executive”.

Steve Drake, CEO of Cycling Australia: “Steve Bracks’ contribution to the ongoing turnaround of Cycling Australia has been outstanding. He’s used his wealth of experience and political instincts to great effect within the organisation. We wish him well and express our profound thanks.”

Duncan Murray, who will become Chair as of 1 July, was the inaugural Chairman of the Amy Gillett Foundation from 2007 - 2013 and joined the CA Board as Deputy Chairman in March 2017, at the same time as CEO of CA, Mr Steve Drake.

Mr. Murray has a long history in cycling, having raced road, track and mountain bikes over many years. He is a regular A Grade club rider and has competed at a club and state level in races as diverse as the Crocodile Trophy and the Melbourne to Warrnambool (which he last finished in 2017).  He recently relocated to his hometown of Melbourne from Queensland but remains a member of the Cairns Cycling Club.

Originally a lawyer and then an investment banker, for the majority of his career he has operated as a CEO across a range of industries. Today he is CEO of a Melbourne based Family Office that operates in Australia and the US.
Duncan Murray: “Cycling is a sport I love. I’ve ridden - or wished I’d ridden - most days since the late 1980s. I believe that CA has made important progress over the last few years, but still has a vitally important reform agenda ahead of it. These coming changes will bring Cycling Australia in line with best practices in world sport and I am very much committed to that agenda and I look forward to driving that with the Board, Steve and his team.” 

Joining the Board to fill the vacancy created by Mr. Bracks’ departure is Brisbane based accountant and keen cyclist Ms. Penny Shield. With degrees in Commerce and Arts, Ms. Shield is a Partner at Ernst & Young and is also a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Certified Internal Auditor. She specialises in advising organisations on getting value from their investments in governance, risk, and control.

Like many members of the Cycling Australia Board, Ms. Shield is also an enthusiastic cyclist who enjoys weekend “coffee rides” and armchair analysis of world championship and grand tour events. A keen traveller, Ms. Shield hires a bike at every opportunity to explore world cities. She is a passionate advocate for building and improving cycling infrastructure to make the sport a safe and inclusive pursuit for everyone.

Cycling Australia Board as at July 1, 2018

Duncan Murray (Chair), David Ansell, Steve Drake, Linda Evans, Leeanne Grantham, Anthony Griffin, Anne Gripper, Glen Pearsall, Penny Shield.