420 Riders Take on Round 2 of the KOM Financial Advice Queensland Classic Road Series Upperlimb.com Cunningham Classic!

420 Riders Take on Round 2 of the KOM Financial Advice Queensland Classic Road Series Upperlimb.com Cunningham Classic!


The KOM Financial Advice Queensland Classic Road Series (QCRS) continued over the weekend, with Upperlimb.com Cunningham Classic hosting the second round. 420 riders were on the start line, as Kangaroo Point Cycling Club and Cycling Queensland celebrate a 53% increase in participation since 2019.

The Elite Men A road race saw a large group of 26 riders vying to be first across the finish line. It was Darling Downs Cycling Clubmates Jared Graves (Yeti Cycles) and Daniel Luke (A1 Glass – Done & Dusted) who crossed the line in first and second position, with Troy Herfoss (Gold Coast CC) completing the podium in third position.

A breakaway group formed in the Elite Men B field, resulting in Justin Palmer (Balmoral CC) surging past everyone which a huge burst of speed in the final hundred meters to take the win. Top step podium contesters Trent Carman (Logan City CC / Cyclesport Collective) and Sean Moran (Brisbane CC | Cobra9 Intebuild Racing team) crossed the line in second and third positions only 3 seconds behind Palmer.  

Ben Andrews (Balmoral CC) jumped clear with Laurence McMahon (Brisbane CC/QUTcc x Ronde), John Hatfield (Brisbane CC / QUTcc x Ronde) and Cj Yong (BNECC) in the final moments of the Elite Men C race, and the quartet held on to contest the round 2 win. Although Yong fell off the group in the closing meters, there was no catching Andrews at the line. McMahon and Hatfield crossed the line collecting second and third position points.

Nick Bladen (Melbourne Cycling League / Hanna Racing) led the way into the Master Men A’s finale, taking the top step on the podium. Andrew Small (University of Queensland CC / Altitude Cycling Team p/b Allsports Physiotherapy) crossed the line in second position, whilst Gold Coast Cycling Club again took the third step of the podium with Adam Bemrose.

With only a few hundred meters still to go, Peter Oddsson (Hamilton Wheelers CC) left his breakaway companions behind and pressed on for the finish line, giving himself a 2 second advantage and taking the Masters Men B grade win. Clubmate Robert Cordle (Wolf Racing) crossed the line in second place, whilst Gold Coast Cycling Club’s Marcus O’Brien completed the podium in third position 6 seconds behind Oddsson.

University of Queensland dominated the lead pack in the Masters Men C1 race, which saw 9 riders vying for the position on the top step. It was Lifecycle Cycling Club’s Neil Bosson who took the overall honours, joined by Steve Moon (University of Queensland CC / Move Veloce Racing) and Luke Southam (Gold Coast CC) who took the second and third steps.

Michael Woodcock (Sunshine Coast CC) secured a comfortable win in the Masters Men C2 race, with a lead of 2:08 minutes. A group of three riders competed for the remaining steps on the podium, with Michael Dezwart (Hamilton Wheelers CC), and Lee Williams (University of Queensland CC) crossing the line ahead of Rod Tanner (Hamilton Wheelers CC) who placed fourth.

A lead group of 8 riders meant that any one could win the Masters Men D grade race. It was David Nye (Gold Coast CC) with the best legs and the round win ahead of Ron Hewes (Murwillumbah CC), with Michael Hains (Brisbane CC) in third.

Hayley Jones (Balmoral CC \ Team Scody Racing p/b Galibier Partners) set a fast pace into the finishing chute separating the breakaway bunch of 8 riders, and taking the Women’s A Grade win. Emily Fowler (University of Queensland CC) and Anya Louw (Mersey Valley Devonport CC / ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast) crossed the line in second and third position.

Zara Bruce (University of Queensland CC) secured a comfortable win following a breakaway from the main peloton, crossing the finish line 3:17 minutes ahead of Disa Dyson (Redlands Cycling and Multisport Club) and Kylie Adair (Logan CC / Cyclesport Collective) who placed second and third in the Women’s B Grade.

A breakaway group of two riders sat on the front of the Women’s C grade race. Theresa Waldburger (Logan City CC) opened the sprint, with Nichola Day (Lifecycle CC) crossing the line in second position. The second group crossed the line at 1:17 seconds, where Tevin Chau (University of Queensland CC) rounded the podium in third position.

Aimee Schouppe (Kangaroo Point CC) secured a comfortable win in the Women’s D grade race, crossing the finish line with an impressive lead of 4:24 minutes. Monique Utley (Brisbane CC) and Yvonn Baylis (Lifecycle CC / Splatt Lawyers Racing Team) crossed the finish line in second and third positions.


See Full Results.