Currumbin Valley Team Time Trial State Champions Crowned

Currumbin Valley Team Time Trial State Champions Crowned


The 2020 Queensland Team Time Trial State Championships were hosted by the Tour de Valley Festival of Time Trialling. Set in the beautiful Currumbin Valley, teams were treated to a stunning, leafy green undulating course.

Under 17 Men

The Under 17 Male State Team stormed to victory in the 2020 Queensland Team Time Trial State Championships with riders Matson McAdam, Jarlath Whittaker, Ephraim Martenson and Harvey McIntosh riding in an impressive time of 24:11.79 over the undulating course.

Under 15 Men

The Under 15 Male State Team bolstered their time trialling credentials following their win against the Hamilton Wheelers U15 team with an impressive lead of 5:24.69 minutes. Luke Richert, Alex Hewes, Thomas Loadsman, and Ethan Lang were crowned 2020 champions, whilst Luke Bradley, Lachlan Walters and Ren Han Tsen received silver position.

Under 17 Women

The State Team again took the championship title in the Under 17 Women’s Team Time Trial event with Keeley Henderson, Villo Halasz, Stephanie Leech and Georgia Wilson putting 1:24.61 into their competitors. The Gold Coast Cycling Club’s team Amelie Sanders, Akala Keeble, Maddison Smith, Eden Sealy-Cunnington were competitive on course securing the silver medal in the championship event.

Elite Men

Futuro Pro Cycling’s Elite Men’s team added Queensland Team Time Trial State Champions to their resume following their ride at the Currumbin Valley over the weekend. Teammates Matthew Lambert, Rhys Robotham and Harley Moore secured their crowns in a convincing ride finishing almost four minutes ahead of second place.  

ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast crossed the finish line with the second fastest time with teammates Zack Gilmore, Matthew Rice and Ryan Thomas receiving their silver medals. It was Logan Cycling Club that completed the podium in third position after a strong ride by Kevin Biffiger, Aden De Jager, Ben Carman and Trent Carman.

Masters Women 4 – 7

A strong collective of ladies who are not unfamiliar with the top step of podiums made up the SDC Racing team in the Masters Women 4 – 7 team time trial. Anne Elliiott, Elizabeth Nelson, Deborah Latouf and Tess Martin-Wallace were crowned Team Time Trial Champions following a strong ride that secured a lead of just over 6 and a half minutes on their competitors.

Tina Whiteside, Lisa Cox, Lucretia Battle, and Glenda Banaghan made up the S100 race team who secured the second step on the Masters Women 4 – 7 podium.

Masters Women 1 – 3

The Bel Squad had a clean sweep of the Masters Women 1 – 3 Team Time Trial State Championships over the weekend. The Bel Squad Bandits took the overall win, with Selina Green, Aimee Schouppe, Sarah Leuenberger, and Kirstin Leech securing the lead with an 7:43 minute advantage. The Bel Squad Beginners Jade Stafrace, Deanna Andersson, Lidia Dudina, and Sacha Middleton placed second. Whilst the Bel Squad Babes completed the podium in third position with Taddii McLean, Deborah Roberts, Sarah Dusha, and Donna Cameron.

Under 19 Women

Team Scody powered by Galibier Partners produced a strong under 19 women’s team with riders Briana McDonald, Liliana McLennan, Brooke Carnes and Stephanie Corset who rode to victory and took the top step of the podium.

Masters Men 6 – 7

Only a one and a half minutes separated gold and silver in the Masters Men 6 – 7 team time trial. Red n Black Racing took the overall honours with Rob Cain, Ashley Partington, Wayne Sorour crossing the line with the fastest time. RCMC Sixers were the runners up with Colin Marchant, Wayne Knott, Peter Moolenschot, and Joe Maartens crossing the line with the second fastest time in the championship event.

Masters Men 4 – 5

Masters Men 4 – 5 produced some fast times, with competition tight amongst the podium teams. With only roughly six and a half seconds separating silver and bronze positions, it was the Koiled / Futuro team who secured the second fastest time with Klaus Auckenthaler, Ian Johnston, Shannon Duggan, and Jason McNaulty. While Entrago Racing powered by Aeon Health with Graeme Weeks, Brett Lutze, Stephen North and Troy Hawthorn who competed the podium in third place. It was the Gold Coast Cycling Club 4/5 who took the overall honours with Lloyd Darby, David Barber, Peter Gwynne and Michael Stuart riding the fastest time.

Masters Men 1 – 3

Close competition continued to trend in the Masters Men 1 – 3 Team Time Trial, with only almost 12 seconds separating first and second positions. Simba’s Band of Bikes crossed the line in an impressive 47 minutes with teammates Cameron Allen, Justin Palmer, Nathan Cambell and Luke Bona winning overall. Only 11.96 seconds behind was Team Entrago with Nick Bladen, Sean Murray, Kyle Godson, and Benjamin Pegard in second position. Harcourts Racing Team crossed the line in third position, with Michele Muscillo, Eric Grindley-Ferris, John Carr, and Dave McAdam taking home well deserved bronze medals.

Under 19 Men

The Balmoral Elite Team made up of Thomas Moore, Xander Griffiths, James Panizza and Connor Erasmus crossed the line with the fastest time in the Under 19 Men’s category securing their championship crown.

Cycling Queensland would like to thank all of the riders and teams who participated in this years championship event, along side the volunteers, staff, officials, the Tour de Valley and Gold Coast Cycling Club who were vital to making the 2020 Queensland Team Time Trial State Championships happen!

Full Results Here 

Photos Courtesy of Cycling Queensland.