Cycling Australia

New talent rises at Cycling Queensland Regional Championships


Two junior riders showed their future potential with outstanding wins in the Mackay Open cycling carnival on the weekend.

Scott Lynch, a 15-year-old C grade rider from Townsville won the Rodgers Memorial handicap race on Sunday and Duncan Allen, 16, of Bundaberg took out the B grade section of Saturday’s regional championship event.

Mackay’s Kyle Marwood won the A grade regional title race on Saturday and backed up again on Sunday to record fastest time in the Rodgers Memorial.

The two-day carnival, hosted by Mackay Cycling Club, involved three separate road races with about 60 riders and attended by officials from Cycling Queensland.

Riders from Townsville, Rockhampton, Gladstone and Bundaberg joined Mackay club members for the inaugural Queensland Regional Championship meeting on Saturday. The course followed the Eton-Homebush Road circuit with A and B grade riders completing two loops totalling 90 kilometres. The C/D graded competitors and junior riders tackled a 52-kilometer course.

The A grade honours went to Kyle Marwood finishing just ahead of his Mackay team-mate, Brendon Brauer with Michael Sleeman, also of Mackay, taking third. Marwood said he and Brauer found themselves out front with 20 kilometres to go and just rode to the finish line.

“It was a longer race and although we (Mackay) were well represented from our team, there were a couple of strong guys from Townsville. It was really anyone’s race, but the windy conditions presented some aggressive racing,” he said.

However, it was Bundaberg’s rising star, Duncan Allen, who closed on the break away group almost at the end of the race to take the B grade honours. In another great effort, Hamish Wright of Mackay finished second and Townsville’s Angus O’Halloran took third.

Victory in the C grade section went to Jonathon Davies of Rockhampton ahead of young Scott Lynch with third to Glen McDermott of Mackay. Tessa Pate of Mackay was the first woman to cross the line in the C grade field with Riley Denham of Rockhampton being the first unplaced junior rider.

The strong D grade contingent was led home by Joe Adair of Rockhampton with Mackay riders, Andrew Duck (second) and Greg Shaw in third place. Briana McDonald (Townsville) was the first female rider and Daniel Desbois (Mackay) the first unplaced junior rider.

He’s only been riding for two years and had a 19-minute handicap, but Scott Lynch rode a fast-paced race to get his name on the Rodgers Memorial shield on Sunday.

The 44-kilometre handicap event was held over three laps of the Wollingford Loop circuit with the lead riders averaging 44km/h despite the hilly terrain.

Supported by his training mates from Townsville, Lynch said he had a nice gap about six kilometres from the end and by the two-kilometre mark it was in the bag.

His team-mates, Ben Crawford and Duncan McIntyre, who both started with a 22-minute handicap, finished second and third. Glen McDermott was the first of the Mackay riders to cross the line in fifth spot. Kyle Marwood recorded fastest time but with a 31-minute handicap, was unable to catch the leading bunch and finished 17th outright.

And despite being out-gunned by the younger riders, the legendary Vince Amos of Mooloolaba also finished the race. The former Mackay cyclist, now 82, has been a regular entrant in the Rodgers Memorial race since the late 1980s and won the 1990 event.

It was his first race in more than 12 months and despite age catching up with him, he said he does it out of respect for an old-time mate and one of Mackay’s best cyclists, the late Jack Rodgers. Jack, along with his brothers, Eric, Ted jnr and Keven all followed in the footsteps of their father, Teddy Rodgers, to become road and track champions.

This year’s race marked the sixth anniversary of the death of Keven who was a long-time patron of the event. Maintaining a family presence, two of his daughters, Lorraine Murphy and Joan Hall, attended the race to present the shield.