Cycling Australia

Oatlands Ray Appleby classic results


The Hobart Wheelers Dirt Devils ran the Ray Appleby Classic at Oatlands on Saturday.

Great racing with 42 Seniors in the main race. Another of our up and coming stars in Hamish McKenzie put in a wonderful ride to outsprint a large group of B, C & D Graders to grab the victory. Two in two weeks to the Van Diemen Cycling Team youngsters backing up Riley Cowling's win in the Roubaix. The remaining three A Graders with Dalton Stretton in tow finished close behind the winners. Great work from Scott Bowden, Dan Di Domenico and Zach Johnson just saw them miss out. McKenzie's ride was a ripper from a first year U/17 which saw Matty Byrne close up in second after his solo break away attempt earlier in the race. Alex Fowler also tried his luck with 8km to go but was brought back in sight of the finish line. Michael Wilson was third, Hamish's dad Paul McKenzie finished 4th and Doug Devereux 5th.

In the Ladies Ray Appleby Classic Susanne Strates was victorious from Mardy Ryan and Kristy Grubits.

  • Mens: Hamish McKenzie 1st. Matthew Byrne 2nd. Michael Wilson 3rd. Paul McKenzie 4th. Doug Devereux 5th .
  • A Grade: Scott Bowden Fastest. Dan Di Domenico. Zach Johnson.
  • B Grade. Paul McKenzie. Josh Harris. Alex Fowler.
  • C Grade: Hamish McKenzie. Matty Byrne. Michael Wilson.
  • D Grade: Doug Devereux. James Goodsell. Sam Karas.
  • E Grade: Lachlan Steele. Paul Bestwick. Susanne Strates.
  • F Grade: Zoe Wright. Emily Scott. Nigel Foss.
  • First unplaced M4 Nigel Davies.
  • Junior Under 15

1st Rachel Horsham 2nd Hayden van der Ploeg 3rd Alex Caporelli