2019 Victorian Junior Road Team

2019 Victorian Junior Road Team


Junior racing hits the Gold Coast on September 20 to 22nd with the Cycling Australia Junior Road National Championships.


22 Victorian Athletes have been selected to represent Cycling Victoria at the National Championships as they do battle on the road for the coveted Green and Gold jersey.


Out of the nine females and 13 males, Bendigo & District Cycling Club continues its recent domination of junior cycling with seven representatives followed by Brunswick Cycling Club with five, Blackburn Cycling Club with four, Hawthorn Cycling Club with three, Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club with two and Mansfield Mt Buller Cycling Club with one.


Watch the video announcement here. 


State Team Manager, Astrid van Uden said: “I am grateful for the opportunity to lead such a talented team of young riders at the Cycling Australia Road National Championships this September. Taking the step to become a Team Manager has been a career goal of mine, and I just hope that I can pass on some of my experience from working within professional cycling to these young athletes to help guide them as their cycling career develops.”


State Team Selector Chairman and Junior Racing Coordinator, Brian Harwood: “As in most years, the top kids picked themselves, it is always those last couple of spots that were really the toughest to choose from. Congratulations to the kids that made it onto the team next year. To those who didn’t make it, hang in there and you will get your opportunity next year.”


General Manager, Craig Eastwood said: “On behalf of Cycling Victoria and the board, I would like to extend my congratulations to the 22 riders selected for Team Victoria. It is an honour to compete in the state team cycling kit and I know these riders will do so with pride and relish in the experience up on the Gold Coast.”



Talia Appleton – Mansfield Mt Buller Cycling Club

Belinda Bailey – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Milana Freer – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Ava Giramondo – Brunswick Cycling Club



Jamie Coles – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Angus Gill – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Nathan Hadden – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Eddie Jirovec – Brunswick Cycling Club

Jamie Radford – Blackburn Cycling Club



Alyssa Polites – Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Lucinda Stewart – Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Hayley Jenkins – Brunswick Cycling Club

Sophie Marr – Blackburn Cycling Club

Jasmine Eddy – Bendigo & District Cycling Club



James Anthony – Brunswick Cycling Club

Tarun Cook – Blackburn Cycling Club

Jackson Hadden – Bendigo & District Cycling Club

Zac Kelly – Hawthorn Cycling Club

Mitchell McGovern – Blackburn Cycling Club

Daniel O’Malley – Hawthorn Cycling Club

Andy Sampson – Hawthorn Cycling Club

Joshua Spagnolo – Brunswick Cycling Club