Cycling Victoria Board
Victoria

Cycling Victoria Board

Cycling Victoria Board 

Your Cycling Victoria  Board Members for 2020 combine their collective professional skills with cycling experience. Skills of the board members include finance, marketing, legal and governance, risk management, human resources, and strategy while cycling experience and skills include club administration, recreational cycling, masters, juniors, elite, women’s cycling racing, para-cycling, race officiating, and time-keeping.

 

David G

DAVID GALLAGHER - President

Hometown: Orange, New South Wales

Favourite Cycling Event: I love the big track races such as the Austral and Melbourne Cup on Wheels.  As far as a favoured cycling route, I love the Dandenong’s whether on the road or the CX Bike.

What occupies you when you are not riding? I work as the CEO of TR Pty Ltd an Electronic rentals business with offices around Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, and Singapore.

Length of involvement in cycling: I have always ridden however coming late to cycle racing in the last decade as my sons got involved in the sport. In terms of my involvement at an organised level, I have been involved at the club and race level for the last seven years.

Who or what inspires you? Athletes, in general, inspire me, particularly the grit and determination that they apply to reach the highest level in their chosen sport.

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? I believe that I have a range of complementary skills that add value to the board with broad experience in the corporate sector at a senior management level.  I have also had broad exposure to cycling in Victoria at the junior and master’s level which gives me a broad understanding on what a range of stakeholders would like to see from Cycling Victoria in terms of its strategic direction into the future.

 

CAMERON MCCAIG - Vice President

Hometown: Bendigo, Victoria

Favourite Cycling Event: I enjoy watching a wide range of cycling events such as the Grand Tours, One Day Classics, Six Days and Olympic and Commonwealth Games Track events. But my absolute favourite event is the Bendigo International Madison cycling carnival- my father Alan McCaig started this event back in 1972 and I have attended nearly all of them. The main event is the 200 lap Madison on the 400-metre outdoor track, and it has been raced and won by some of the biggest names in world track cycling.

What occupies you when you are not riding? I am the managing director of McCaig Air Conditioning located in Bendigo. My company employs around 40 staff and sells and installs residential and commercial air conditioning systems into homes, businesses around Victoria.

How long have you been involved in cycling? Basically my whole life- so 48 years! My family has been involved in the sport since the fifties and their passion for cycling has been passed onto me. I raced on the road and track as a junior and senior until I was well into my 20’s. Since then I have been a coach, Commissaire, handicapper, mechanic, sponsor and promoter. I also support my two kids who are both talented cyclists.

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? I want to see more people riding and racing bikes from all walks of life. Building a strong cycling culture within Victoria is important to me and with my knowledge of how to develop junior cycling, and my previous involvement with the local Bendigo Cycling Club, it gives me a good understanding of the challenges faced by cycling clubs across the state. It also means I have unique capabilities to assist both regional and city-based clubs to encourage racing and participation in the sport that I love.  

Mark

 

MARK AZZOPARDI - Director of Finance

Club: Brunswick Cycling Club 

Favourite Cycling Event: Madison and any Grand Tours

What occupies you when you are not riding? My great passions outside of riding are travel, music, AFL, soccer, cricket, family, and friends. Fun fact - I did the Kokoda trail in June 2019.

Length of involvement in cycling: Forever, however never competitive. I have been a long-time commuter to work and do a number of “participant” rides over the years. I have also enjoyed jumping on the back of the moto pacer at Brunswick and many training sessions at DISC.  These days, cycling continues to be a massive part of my life, being an active member at Brunswick CC, contributing as a Cycling Victoria board member and riding the bumps of the highs and lows of being a parent to a keen Track and Road athlete - Lucia.

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? I want to see the sport of cycling thrive. It is the best-kept secret in world sport. In my role as Finance Director of Cycling Victoria, I wish to contribute my significant commercial and financial experience in support of the Cycling Victoria management team. I have extensive networks in the business community which I will share with Cycling Victoria to deliver a sustainable business model for the sport of cycling.

 

BIANCA PICKETT - Member

Hometown: Melbourne, Victoria

Favourite Cycling Event: The Spring Classics! Flanders and Roubaix are amazing feats of human endurance. My personal favourite local route is the Dandenongs, however, I love al cycling disciplines. I started as a triathlete, been involved in criteriums and road races, crashed my MTB many times like most of us and I recently bought a gravel bike which I'm really enjoying.

What occupies you when you are not riding? I am the General Manager of INDEX Consultants, an IT Professional Services firm.

Length of involvement in cycling: 15 years ago someone dared me to do a Triathlon and ride Around the Bay. A bike was purchased and I have never looked back.

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? 25 years in the IT industry as given me a wealth of experience and capabilities that I can use to help lead Cycling Victoria through an enormous time of change, with a focus on strategy, people and maintaining an objective view. I intend to represent all cyclists however, I have a particular passion for increasing the participation levels of female cyclists across all cycling disciplines. 

Carol Cooke

CAROL COOKE AM - Member

Hometown: Originally from Toronto, Canada, but have been living in Northcote for almost 25 years.

Favourite Cycling Event: Nationals

What occupies you when you are not riding? My charity event which raises money for people living with MS to follow a dream.

Length of involvement in cycling: I have ridden a bike all my life but here in Victoria I have been riding since 2009

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? I hope that through my role on the board people will be more inclusive and accepting of athletes with a disability.  

John N

JOHN NICHOLSON - Member

Hometown: Melbourne, Victoria

Cycling Background: Started racing as a junior with the Blackburn Cycling Club and have been involved in cycling in its many forms since. As an amateur riding at Commonwealth Games, Olympics (Mexico - '68 and Munich - '72) and as professional won two World Championships (Varese -'74 and Liege - '75). I had been President of Blackburn Cycling Club for more than ten years. I have served on multiple committees related to cycling.

Favourite Cycling Event: Track sprint, but I love to watch Paris-Roubaix and the Tour de France.

What occupies you when you are not riding? I spend a considerable amount of time on event timing and supporting cycling events at a ground level. Previously I worked in IT Management positions. And of course, I try to support my children.

Length of involvement in cycling: More than 50 years at all levels.

Who or what inspires you? I am inspired by sprinters of the early years like Major Taylor and Reg Harris. The sprinters of today are super fast but lack the finesse and excitement of the earlier sprinters. The road sprinters like Sagan I find inspirational and the efforts of Cadel Evans to win the Tour de France. 

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? My hope is that my experience across all forms and areas of cycling that I can help cycling to modernise and that cyclists can earn a reasonable wage from cycling. 

Anna Wilson

 

ANNA WILSON - Legal Co-Opt Member

Hometown: Born and bred in Blackburn, Victoria

Favourite Cycling Event: Hmmm a difficult one to answer! I love Giro d’Italia Femminile because racing in Italy is amazing. I love the race that doesn’t exist any more – the Hewlett Packard tour in Idaho, USA because it was the longest tour I ever did at 13 days and it had great prize money!

What occupies you when you are not riding? Working, my 4-year-old and 2-year-old, kayaking, working on our house

Length of involvement in cycling: Started riding to school when I was 8, started racing when I was 21, that’s a lot of years ago!

What do you hope to contribute to cycling through your role on the board of Cycling Victoria? Sharing my enthusiasm for the sport that has brought me so much, increasing advocacy at government and community level for cycling and cycling races